top of page
  • Becca's Books

AUTHOR INTERVIEW WITH ELIZA J SCOTT


Hi Eliza, and welcome to Becca's Books. I am absolutely delighted to have you here for a lovely cup of tea and a good old chat! You are my very first guest on the blog since returning to book-blogging, so I'm really excited to talk with you about your beautiful books, and see what life is looking like for you in 2024.


So, without further ado, how about we get started?



 

So Eliza, I myself am new to you and your books, so I'm going to assume that perhaps a few of my readers are, too. Can you introduce yourself to us and let us know a little about your stories so far?

Of course, so I'm a hybrid author which means I publish some of my books independently but am also signed to a publishing house - in this case, it's Storm Publishing. I live in North Yorkshire with my family and write romantic women's fiction based on that area. My Life on the Moors series in and around Lytell Stangdale which is a fictional village brimming with quaint thatched cottages and the odd quirky character. There's a strong sense of community within the series and everyone looks out for one another - with the odd exception - and despite it being set in the countryside, there's always a lot going on and it's never ever quiet! My Welcome to Micklewick Bay series follows the lives of a group of friends and is set in a fictional town on the North Torkshire Coast, while my Heartshaped series is based in the mediaeval city of York. My stories can sometimes touch on serious issues which I try to handle with sensitivity and to stop them from becoming too heavy, I like to add a good dollop of humour to them. A common thread that runs through all of my books is family and friendship - in particular women's friendship and how supportive that can be.


When was it that you first began to write? Is it something that you've always wanted to do, or did it come to you a little later in life?

I've wanted to be a writer as far back as I can remember and used to make little books that I'd fill with my stories. I recall there were lots of adventures involving families of mice living in cosy houses in tree trunks. I guess it's no surprise that I loved Enid Blyton's Enchanted Wood books!


I know a lot of people say that being a writer and a reader goes hand in hand. Is that true for you? If so, what kind of books do you like to read, and who are some of your favourite authors?

Yes, it's definitely true for me. I've always loved to read. When I was at primary school I used to set my alarm early so that I could sneak in an extra chapter of my latest book before the rest of the family got up (I'd keep my alarm clock under my pillow so I didn't disturb anyone else!). I have quite an eclectic collection of books on my shelves (virtual and physical). I love romance and contemporary women's fiction, but I also enjoy delving into the realms of historical fiction - Clare Marchant's books are just brilliant; she's so skilled at getting the reader totally immersed in the time period of her stories. It's difficult to narrow down other authors whose books I enjoy as there are so many! However, those whose books I'll always buy are Milly Johnson, Heidi Swain, Karen Swan, Jessica Redland, Sharon Booth, Daisy James, Cathy Bramley, Veronica Henry, Freya North (Little Wing was just sublime), CJ Sansom, Emma Heatherington, Carole Matthews, Jill Mansell, Katie Fforde, Santa Montefiore, Shari Lowe, Helen Rolfe... Oh my days, the list is endless and I know I'll have missed a whole slew of my favourites!


I understand that a little later this year, your Micklewick Bay series is set to be released. It sounds wonderful and the covers are utterly gorgeous! Can you tell us a little about this series and where your inspiration came from?

Thank you! That's so kind of you to say. I'd originally self-published The Little Bookshop by the Sea two years ago but I was over the moon when it was taken on by Storm Publishing, together with two new books in the series. Little Bookshop is being republished by Storm, alongside books two and three, on 1st April this year and I'm so excited about it! I have a wonderful editor at Storm - Kate Gilby-Smith - who's so kind, enthusiastic and supportive. It's been a joy working with her.


In terms of writing, do you have any personal aspirations you'd like to achieve in your career? And have you achieved any of those yet?

Ooh, good question. I suppose I'd have to say my greatest aspiration was to get a book published, which was realised when I self-published The Letter - Kitty's Story in 2018. I'm still stunned (and overjoyed) that there are people who buy and read my books, but as far as further aspirations go, I'd love to continue with my writing as it gives me so much joy.


Do you like to plan your stories, or are you more of the 'wing it and see how it goes' type of writer?

I'd say I'm kind of a mix of plotter and panster. In fact, I've joked with my writing buddies, Jessica Redland and Sharon Booth, that I'm either a pants-plotter or a potty-panster! As far as planning a story goes, I start by outlining the story/stories I want to tell and then just follow the path it takes me down once I start writing.


Is there anything you particularly struggle with when it comes to writing? Are you organised when it comes to sticking to deadlines? How do you find copy-edits?

Finding time can sometimes be tricky depending on what's happening around me - we're coming to the end (hopefully!) of a house renovation which has taken longer thanks to the pandemic. Things can get quite noisy when we're having jobs done. Having said that, I do all I can to stick to deadlines and - touch wood - have always met them. And I really enjoy the editing process!


What would you say you most enjoy about writing? Is there a particular part that you always find exciting? Like seeing your book cover for the first time or celebrating a publication day?

I love the thrill of starting a new story, but I also really enjoy it when I've got to know my characters a bit better and understand what makes them tick. Seeing a cover for the first time is always exciting too.


When it's time to take a step back from writing, what else do you enjoy doing? How do you like to spend your free time?

My garden is without doubt my happy place. Being outside in the fresh air and in amongst the plants is just sublime. I also like to catch up with family and friends, preferably if it involves tea and cake.


What is one piece of writing advice you'd pass on to a younger version of yourself?

Hmm, I guess that would be to believe in yourself and be more confident - I reckon that still applies now. I know I'm not alone in the writing community to suffer from the dreaded Imposter Syndrome.


How do you usually push through a tough writing block? Do you have any techniques which tend to help?

If I'm struggling with something I find things usually come to me when I'm working in my garden. There's nothing like tackling the weeds for clearing your mind and letting new ideas filter in.


Of all the books you've written so far, do you have a favourite? If so, why?

Ooh, tricky one! I think it would probably be A Christmas Kiss from the Life on the Moors series. I loved writing about the moors in winter, even though I was doing so during a wave of belting-hot sunshine!


Are all the settings in your stories fictional or are they based on real places?

They're all fictional - though they're inspired by real places - with the exception of York in Tell That To My Heart. I did make up a street name (Smiddersgate) based on the city's Viking history though.


Tell us Eliza, what else is lined up for you in 2024?

Well, what I can tell you is that I'm hoping to publish a new book in the Life on the Moors series later this year. As for other projects, I'm definitely working on something... but I'm afraid, for now, my lips are sealed on that one.


And lastly ELiza, if you could have tea and a chat with any author in the world, who would it be and why?

The contemporary author I'd love to have tea and a chat with is everybody's favourite, Milly Johnson. I've been lucky enough to sit at the same table as her a couple of times at the RNA's York Tea, but have never been close enough to have a chinwag with her. She seems absolutely lovely and so down-to-earth. Jane Austen is another author I think would be wonderful to have a chat with as I love her humour and think it's stood the test of time.


Eliza, thank you so much for taking the time to appear on Becca's Books today! It's been truly lovely to have you and I wish you all the success in the future with your writing. I'll be looking forward to diving into your stories in the very near future, they look right up my street!

Thank you so much for your good wishes and your wonderful questions, Becca. I've had great fun answering them and I've loved our chat. It's so good to see the fabulous Becca's Books is back in business. I've guzzled all my tea, so I think it's time to put the kettle back on! Much love, ELiza xxx


 

Eliza is proud to be a member of the RNA. She lives in North Yorkshire with her family. When she's not writing, she can usually be found with her nose in a book/glued to her Kindle or working in her garden, fighting a losing battle against the weeds.


Eliza also enjoys bracing walks in the countryside, rounded off by a visit to a teashop where she can indulge in another two of her favourite things: tea and cake.


Her biggest weakness is ginger biscuits dunked in tea.


Eliza is inspired by her beautiful surroundings and loves to write heartwarming romance stories with relatable female characters. She enjoys exploring the dynamics of female friendship, with a key feature of her books being how women pull together and support one another when things get tough.


Eliza's novels will always have happy endings.


You can find all of Eliza's novels here.

23 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page