top of page
  • Becca's Books

Author Interview: Samantha Tonge, author of The Summer Island Swap

Samantha Tonge Author

Today on The Book Babe, I’m absolutely delighted to be welcoming the fabulous Samantha Tonge to the blog for an author interview. What makes this even more of a special occasion is that today, Samantha’s brand-new book, ‘The Summer Island Swap’, is published by Aria, so please join me in the congratulations and in wishing Samantha a superb publication day!

 

1.) Samantha, where did the idea for ‘The Summer Island Swap’ originate from?

My son went on a volunteering trip to the rainforest and the stories and photos he came back with really inspired me, in two ways. Firstly, the emotional pull of volunteers helping animals that had been through a tough time. I like writing about contemporary issues and climate changes ties into this as well. And secondly, because when he started talking about compost toilets and tarantulas, I realised there could be a great deal of humour in this! I wasn’t sure how I would cope in that environment and thought it would be the fun to drop a character in there and see what happened!

2.) Although I haven’t yet had chance to read ‘The Summer Island Swap’, I’ve had a read of the blurb, and it sounds like a summer delight! Tell us about your leading lady, Sarah.

Sarah had a difficult start in life and grew up looking out for, and providing for her younger sister. She forged a career in hospitality and has grown to become a well-groomed young woman who loves her clothes and Netflix… so roughing it in a conservation camp is her idea of hell! The book follows her journey of how she copes and how the holiday makes her reassess parts of her life. And there is a rather gorgeous male lead called Rick – and a monkey called Chatty!

3.) As the author, do you have a favourite part of the book?

I think it’s the setting. I’ve always loved animals. Sights of animal neglect break my heart and it was hard but interesting researching those aspects. Nature is great for my mental health and it was wonderful writing this tropical, lush setting and spending my work-time with the beautiful animals in it.

4.) What was your planning process like for this novel?

I interviewed my son. Scoured his photos. And I did A LOT of online research to make the setting as authentic as possible.

5.) Would you say that your original idea differs at all to the completed story?

Sometimes that does happen – it has with the Christmas 2020 novel I’ve recently been writing – but not in this case. The concept for this summer story was always very clear.

6.) Why did you choose to set this story in the Caribbean? Have you ever been there yourself?

I haven’t, but I’ve watched programmes/videos over the years about Richard Branson’s Necker Island there and have fantasised about winning the lottery and buying my own place in that region! And the Caribbean fitted the conservation and tropical storyline.

7.) Sam, you’ve written a hefty number of books to date. Do you have a favourite? Or perhaps one that stands out to you more than others?

My 2015 novel ‘Game of Scones’ stands out as it was written from the heart and readers must have felt that, as it reached #5 in the Amazon UK chart and held a high rank for a long time.

Also, ‘Knowing You’, my 2019 romantic thriller that won this year’s RoNA Jackie Collins Romantic Thriller Award. It is a favourite because it was a challenge to write in so many ways – a change of genre and also it was based on something very personal to me, a friend who tried to ruin my life in my twenties and still gets in touch with me now and again, to try to do the same again…

8.) In terms of your writing career, would you say that there’s been a change in your writing over time? If so, how?

Yes – my first books were more farcical with the humour, but over time I suppose the stories have more emotion in them and I think this reflects the changes I’ve undergone. I suffered badly with my mental health in 2016 and I think the books running up to that and afterwards reflect some exploration of the mental health issues so many people face. And directly after getting help I switched to writing women’s fiction/romantic thrillers. I am now writing romantic comedy again but who knows for the future!

9.) As an author, do you have any stand-out memories from your writing journey? Any meet-ups or awards you can tell us about? A moment you’ll never forget?

Winning the recent romantic thriller award was absolutely amazing. I was up against some top authors and genuinely didn’t think I stood a chance. I also met Sophie Kinsella and Carole Matthews at the ceremony – and Anton du Beke! It was an unforgettable, magical evening and I will always remember.

10.) If you’re struggling with a particularly tricky plot point, what do you usually do that helps you in passing it?

I plough on writing, even if I think what I’m putting down doesn’t fit or is rubbish – there is always the rewrite to pull it all together.

11.) Would you say that there are any authors who perhaps influenced you in your early writing days?

Sophie Kinsella – I loved her ‘Shopaholic’ books and they made me want to create stories of my own. And I must mention Enid Blyton – she drove my love of reading as a child.

12.) When it comes to your book covers, yours are always incredibly attractive and eye-catching! Tell us, how much say do you have, as the author, in the final cover image for your books?

I’ve been lucky in that I’ve had a say in terms of tweaking what is on the cover. I’ve also been lucky working with publishers who have amazing designers! I love the one for ‘The Summer Island Swap’, especially the monkey in the bush!

13.) Do you have a writing routine that you stick to daily? A word-count goal perhaps? Or a set structure to your day?

My children are grown up so I don’t have other responsibilities, which means after my early morning bike ride I can settle at my desk and just keep going. I usually write a chapter a day and then head off to go shopping or do some baking. I bob on and off the computer all day doing social media. I take my hat off to any writer who combines novel writing with another job or bringing up children/looking after other family members.

14.) We are all aware that authors can sometimes take a bit of a hit in confidence when it comes to reader reviews. How do you normally deal with criticism? 

I browse Amazon and realise that all authors get bad reviews. I discuss things with my agent, Clare Wallace at the Darley Anderson Agency – she is brilliant at giving me perspective. And my husband and children are very good sounding boards! I quickly learn that personal reviews are usually more about the reviewer than the book. Whereas polite, negative reviews can actually be quite useful, to see how a story hasn’t hit the mark, for a particular reader.

15.) On the other side of that, what’s the best compliment you’ve ever received about your writing?

I think the reviews where people say my writing cheered them up or let them escape from difficult times. Early readers of ‘The Summer Island Swap’ are saying it’s a form of escape during this difficult lockdown. That makes me feel very happy.

16.) Is there anything in particular that you love about being a published author?

I feel I am fulfilling my destiny and will, in some small way, leave a legacy. I also love hearing from readers. It is so rewarding to know that someone appreciates your work.

17.) If you could host the author/reader meet-up of your dreams, what would it look like? Where would you host it?

At the moment anywhere, it would just be nice to get out! But, under normal circumstances… it wouldn’t have to be anywhere special, as long as there was coffee and cake. Just to chat with readers is enough.

18.) Do you have a lot of support from family and friends? Do you discuss your books with them?

Yes, my husband and two children have always been incredibly supportive and I know I’m lucky, not all authors have that. Friends, too, take an interest which is lovely.

19.) What’s the most surprising thing you’ve discovered about being a published author that you didn’t anticipate beforehand?

How I would take the ups and downs personally. It’s not just a job. It’s your heart and soul out there. Even though I’ve been lucky with my success, I didn’t cope well in the early years with the odd bit of criticism. This didn’t cause but didn’t help my mental health problems in 2016. Part of my recovery involved learning about Buddhism and mindfulness, and both of those things help me cope better now with any negative aspects of the rollercoaster of being published.

20.) And lastly Sam, is there anything you’d like to say to your readers and fans before we wrap this up?

Just thank you. Thank you for reading my books. Thank you for following my journey. Each sale, each review, each little social media like and comment, they all make the sweat and tears worthwhile.

Sam, it’s been absolutely lovely chatting with you today! Congratulations again on the release of ‘The Summer Island Swap’, and I wish you every single success with it! 

Read on if you’d like to find out more about ‘The Summer Island Swap’ by Samantha Tonge.

 

TSIS ST

Sometimes the best holidays are the ones you least expect…

After a long and turbulent year, Sarah is dreaming of the five-star getaway her sister has booked them on. White sands, cocktails, massages, the Caribbean is calling to them.

But the sisters turn up to tatty beaches, basic wooden shacks, a compost toilet and outdoor cold water showers. It turns out that at the last minute, Amy decided a conservation project would be much more fun than a luxury resort.

So now Sarah’s battling mosquitos, trying to stomach fish soup and praying for a swift escape. Life on a desert island though isn’t all doom and gloom. They’re at one with nature, learning about each other and making new friends. And Sarah is distracted by the dishy, yet incredibly moody, island leader she’s sure is hiding a secret.

Perfect for fans of Holly Martin, Mandy Baggot and Heidi Swain.

You can purchase your copy of The Summer Island Swap by Samantha Tonge here.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page