top of page
  • Becca's Books

Author Interview with Heidi Swain, Author of ‘The Secret Seaside Escape’

Heidi Swain Author

Good morning, everyone, and a very happy Tuesday to you! I’m absolutely thrilled to have the wonderful Heidi Swain join me here on The Book Babe today.

Heidi is a long-time favourite author of mine. If you love cosy, romantic fiction which focuses on friendship, family and following your heart, then Heidi’s books are sure to leave you with a content smile on your face, and a warm glow in your heart.

I’ve invited Heidi here today, to chat about her most recent release with Simon & Schuster UK, ‘The Secret Seaside Escape’, which I thoroughly enjoyed escaping into, and I’m sure many of you will, too. It was a sunny, sweet & secretive story, with Heidi’s much-loved & well-known charming and cosy style at its core. Heidi’s books are always so inviting and I couldn’t wait to snuggle up with this one.

Anyway, instead of me babbling on, let’s invite the fabulous Heidi Swain onto the stage, and get this interview underway.

 

1.) Heidi, I thoroughly enjoyed reading your latest book. It whisked me away to the seaside which was such a welcome experience considering what’s happening around us at the moment. Where did the idea come from for ‘The Secret Seaside Escape’? Was there anything specific which sparked your inspiration?

Thank you so much! I’m delighted you enjoyed it and I’m thrilled with the reception it has received since publication.

More often than not, when I’m planning a new book, it’s the setting which presents itself first – even before the characters – and The Secret Seaside Escape was no exception. I wanted to tell Tess’s story with a brand-new backdrop. I knew she was going to be looking for comfort in childhood memories, and where better to do that, than the seaside?

2.) Tess Tyler is a workaholic, that’s no secret, and I think she is a character who a lot of people will be able to relate to, myself included. Is she based on anyone in particular, or did you hope that readers would find similarities between themselves and Tess?

If I’m being completely honest, I saw quite a lot of myself in Tess. Unlike her, however, I absolutely love my work, but none the more for that I’m not always very good at getting the balance right. More often than not I’ll be doing something writing related seven days a week and I knew I needed to redress that balance a bit.

In helping Tess sort out her own priorities, I’m hoping that my readers will take a check on themselves and start taking more time to do the things they love. This is something I always give space for in my plots, but it’s even more prevalent in this book. I know Tess and I aren’t the only ones who need to slow down a bit and, combined with the restrictions of lockdown, I’m hoping folk will rediscover some of life’s simple pleasures.

3.) All in all, from the initial planning to the finished novel, how long did writing ‘The Secret Seaside Escape’ take you?

That’s a really difficult question to answer because I live with a story idea for quite a long time before I commit to writing it. I’m a planner, not a pantser, but I am willing to change things as the characters start to take over.

If I’m really on a roll, then I can write a first draft in 10-12 weeks, but of course there’s the editing process after that as well as the planning stages beforehand. Given that I write two books a year, I guess it averages out to around six months. Sorry I can’t be more specific!

4.) What was your planning process like for this novel?

The process is similar for all the books. I’ll finish a first draft and then I’ll start thinking about where I’m heading next. I now have Wynbridge, Nightingale Square and Wynmouth to pick from. Once that’s decided I start thinking about the message I want to convey, who will tell it and how.

I make pages and pages of notes as the ideas start to flow and more often than not, the final book will be very different from those early scribbles, but it’s important to write everything down and let it bubble and brew.

Once I have the plot formed in my head, I’ll start planning in earnest – a calendar is a great help to keep track of the timeline (especially for festive titles), and, as much as I hate writing them, a synopsis gives me a definite focus.

Then it’s time to start getting the words down…

5.) What I really enjoyed about Tess’s story was that not only did it have your trademark and much-loved cosy & romantic feel to it, but there was a deeper, more emotional story hidden within. Was it difficult, incorporating that into Tess’s story?

That’s great! Thank you. I think the changes are a part of my writing development. The stories have more layers now – especially the summer ones – and I’m really enjoying adding the extra twists and turns. I’m always striving to make each book better than the last. It’s important to keep learning and moving forward.

6.) There were so many wonderful characters to get to know in ‘The Secret Seaside Escape’. Were any of them particularly fun to write, some more than others? Any you feel that you relate to on a more personal level?

There were so many that I enjoyed writing. I loved George and the mischievous Skipper; they were great fun! I had a definite soft spot for Sam (the landlord of the Smuggler’s), and often envied Sophie and Hope’s energy! Tess was definitely who I found the most relatable in so far as I needed to take a leaf out of her book and slow down a bit.

7.) When Tess found her mother’s diary, I couldn’t believe it and I couldn’t wait to what secrets were tucked away inside the pages. What did you hope to achieve by adding this source of mystery to the story?

I knew that Tess was going to need something to tip her over the edge. Had she not found the diary, then I think she would have just soldiered on at work and I wanted her to get away and rediscover Wynmouth as soon as possible.

I know this might sound a little strange, given that I was the one typing and telling her story, but the mystery the diary held came as a huge shock to me. I genuinely didn’t know what it was going to reveal almost until the moment I wrote the revelatory scene! It was as big as a surprise to me as it was to Tess and that was what I was meaning earlier, when I said about going with the flow when the characters start to take over. That’s when the magic happens for me.

What I really wanted to achieve with those revelations was to remind readers not to be too quick to judge, don’t assume that you always have all the answers. Be prepared to listen and, if appropriate, make changes and allowances.

8.) Are there any particular messages you hope readers will take away from this story once they’ve finished reading it?

What I would really like my readers to think about is the pace that they run their own lives at. Are they looking after themselves or is there room for improvement? Are there opportunities to do more of the things they love and if so, are they embracing them?

Life’s too short to not make the most of every day.

9.) Heidi, tell us some of your very own seaside escapes. If you had to choose one to escape to right now, which would you pick and why?

Funnily enough, I should have been visiting my favourite seaside escape right now! I haven’t had a holiday for a few years and I was planning a break in beautiful Wells Next the Sea on the Norfolk coast.

Like Tess with Wynmouth, it’s somewhere that has very special childhood memories for me and I was looking forward to spending some time there and recharging my batteries.

It has everything you could want from a coastal resort – a stunning sandy beach, huts on stilts, a bustling town, a pretty harbour, beautiful surrounding countryside and woods and so many wonderful places to eat.

It’s definitely worth a visit – I might even see you there!

10.) We all know that a yummy ice-cream goes hand-in-hand with any trip to the seaside, so tell us, what is your favourite ice-cream?

I’m a HUGE fan of mint chocolate chip ice cream. And coconut. I love coconut!

11.) It’s been a few days since the publication of ‘The Secret Seaside Escape’ now. So, tell us how you celebrated your latest book being released into the wild. Were there bubbles and cake?

To be honest, it was a publication day much like any other, even though I didn’t expect it to be. Ordinarily, I spend the whole day on social media, but this time around I wasn’t expecting anyone to be about. I couldn’t have been more wrong! My phone buzzed from 6am to 9pm when I turned it off and there was still lots to catch up on the next day.

Generally, I celebrate a release day the following weekend, but with all the restrictions that wasn’t able to happen so, much like my birthday which was earlier in April, I’ll be having another celebration later in the year. Any excuse for bubbles and cake!

12.) What are you working on next, Heidi? And can you tell us anything about it?

Right now, I’m working on my next festive title. It’s called The Winter Garden and it’s the first Christmas book set in Nightingale Square. I’ve been there twice already during the summer, but this new seasonal twist is, hopefully, going to be a most welcome addition to the series.

13.) Do you have a favourite memory from your life as an author so far? Any moments that have stood out to you in your writing journey?

There are so many amazing moments that I’ve experienced in the last five years, but there are two in particular which have been really magical.

Standing in the Simon and Schuster building with my editor, Clare Hey when she said the words ‘we’d like to offer you a two-book deal’, was incredible. A real stuff of dreams moment.

The other, was taking the phone call – in a Norwich park and ride car park of places – telling me that I’d become a Top 10 Sunday Times bestseller. Sleigh Rides and Silver Bells had jumped from number 13 to number 5 and I was absolutely elated.

I still get a buzz thinking about both of those moments!

14.) And lastly, whenever you’re feeling a little overwhelmed, either by life or work, or just a little tired maybe, what is your favourite way to relax, besides heading to the seaside?

Reading has always been a huge source of comfort to me and even more so during lockdown. Disappearing into a fabulous fictional world has been preferable to reality quite often recently.

I also love to garden, go for walks in my local woods, admire the changing seasons and take real pleasure in green things growing. It’s such an important connection to have and the reason why I set a series around the Grow-Well garden in Nightingale Square.

I also like to knit and cuddle my cat, Storm. She’s a great soul soother.

Heidi, thank you so much for taking the time to feature on The Book Babe today. As always, it has been a pleasure having you, and I can’t wait to see what’s next. I wish you every continuing success with ‘The Secret Seaside Escape’, and I hope that readers enjoy it just as much as I did!

 

Heidi Swain is the Sunday Times Top Ten best-selling author of ‘Sleigh Rides and Silver Bells at the Christmas Fair’. Her other titles include ‘The Cherry Tree Cafe’, ‘Summer at Skylark Farm’, ‘Mince Pies and Mistletoe at the Christmas Market’, ‘Coming Home to Cuckoo Cottage’, ‘Snowflakes and Cinnamon Swirls at the Winter Wonderland’, ‘Poppy’s Recipe for Life’, ‘The Christmas Wish List’, and ‘The Secret Seaside Escape’. Heidi lives in beautiful south Norfolk with her family and a mischievous cat called Storm. She is passionate about gardening, the countryside, collecting vintage paraphernalia, and reading. Her tbr pile is always out of control! Heidi loves to chat with her readers and you can get in touch with her via her website (heidiswain.co.uk) or Twitter (@HeidiSwain).

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page