top of page
  • Becca's Books

Author Interview with Jenny Kane (@JennyKaneAuthor @AccentPress)

Hello, everyone. I hope you are all well and keeping safe this Tuesday? Today on The Book Babe, I am absolutely delighted to be chatting to the wonderful Jenny Kane here on the blog, and I’d love it if you decided to stick around and have a read of our chat, if you had the time, of course!

Jenny Kane is an author whom I’ve only recently discovered, but having read two of her books recently, I’m pleased to say that she’s an author I’ve quickly become fond of and I’m looking forward to her future releases very much. So, without further ado, I’d like to invite Jenny Kane to the stage, and let’s get this interview rolling…

1.) First of all Jenny, could you please introduce yourself? Tell us where you’re from, what you do for a living, and what life is all about for you.

Hi Rebecca, thank you for inviting me over to chat today. I’m currently writing from the corner of my shed in the back garden – amongst the flower pots, broken tumble-dryer and various piles of wood.

Normally – in a non-lockdown world – I am lucky enough to be the writer in residence of my local Costa, where I occupy ‘Jenny Kane’s Corner’.

I currently live in Devon, but have lived across the UK; from Aberdeenshire to Yorkshire, Wiltshire, Leicester and Oxfordshire. My shed is sitting in the garden of home number 15.

I’m lucky enough to be a full time writer and creative writing tutor.

2.) When did you first start writing? Has it always been the dream career for you, or was it something that came to you later on in life?

I started almost 16 years ago – by accident. I had no writer dreams – I was an archaeologist and medieval historian prior to my writing life.

My first short story was written after an attack of inspiration (I still don’t know where it came from), while I was enjoying my first three hours peace for five years – after my youngest child went to school for the first time. I was sat in a café in Scotland, eating a Mars Bar scone. The story – a very sexy tale – was written on a paper napkin.

Miraculously, that short story was taken by a publisher – if it hadn’t been, I doubt I’d have ever written another one.

3.) Tell us about how you came to be published, and about your journey to publication. Did it take a while to find your stories a home?

I began – with the aforementioned short story. It was erotic in persuasion – and led to me getting a contract with an erotic ezine in the States, to write a short story for them every month. Slowly, as Kay Jaybee, I built up a stable of erotic short stories, which I sent out to various publishers. I told myself I wasn’t allowed to write anything longer until I’d had 40 of them published.

In truth, I was afraid of writing anything longer! I didn’t think I could make a story last long enough to be a novel. In time however, a publisher – the now gone, Xcite Books, commissioned me to write an erotic novel – and with lots of anxiety – I had a go.

I went on to write 8 naughty novels – but then everything changed. Fifty Shades was published, and erotic writing disappeared under a pile of poorly written hot romance, and has never really recovered.

I had to have a major rethink. The result was the invention of Jenny Kane. I was lucky enough to have a romcom novel idea taken up (Another Cup of Coffee) – and now, 7 years later, miraculously, I’m still going. (Oh – and I’m Jennifer Ash too – I write historical fiction as her!)

4.) As you know Jenny, I recently read A Cornish Escape and really enjoyed it! Where did the inspiration for this story come from? Is Cornwall a place that you know and love?

I’m so glad you enjoyed it! (Thank you for the lovely review).

I know the Penwith area of Cornwall very well. My father is from Penzance, and my grandparents lived there all their lives. As a child, I would spend most summers there, exploring the villages and countryside.

5.) Are you quite strict when it comes to your writing schedule? Do you set yourself a daily word-count goal? Or do you have a set time that you dedicate solely to writing?

I am a very strict timekeeper, with a set routine that I hate disrupting. I am at my desk by 7.30am at the latest, and will write until 12am. After that, I tend to edit, do admin and marketing, or write workshops; mark my students work or teach.

I never go for a daily word-count, but I do try and complete one chapter a day.

6.) When you’re able to find the time, do you like to read yourself? If so, who are some of the authors you enjoy reading?

I read every day at bedtime – and I love it.

I had wide reading tastes, but some favourite authors would be Kate Griffin, Katie Fforde, Oscar du Murial, Sir Terry Pratchett and Colin Dexter.

7.) Jenny, do you plan your novels in detail before you begin writing, or do you write first then see where the characters and story take you?

I used to just write, and enjoy seeing how things turned out. Now, as I have to provide detailed outlines of any books my publisher might want to take up, I plan out the whole thing, from beginning to end. (Although I often deviate from that plan!)

8.) Jenny, would you say that anything changes between writing for yourself and writing for a publisher?

Yes. Very much so.

When you write for yourself, you are able to please only yourself.

When you write for a publisher, you need to write for an unknown audience who expect certain things from your stories – and naturally you want to please all of them. It’s much harder.

9.) What does the perfect fictional romance look like to you? Tell us of a favourite fictional couple that you’ve read.

Ohhh… that is tricky.

I don’t like anything sugar sweet. I’m not a hearts and flowers type romance writer – and I dislike reading anything that swims in tweeness.

I think my favourite fictional couple has to be Robin Hood and Maid Marion. (I’ve had a massive ‘Robin Hood’ obsession since I was 14.)

Apart from them – it would have to be May and Hugh from Katie Fforde’s brilliant, The Rose Revived.

10.) What would you say is the toughest part of novel writing? Is it edits? Is it negative reviews? What do you feel is the biggest hurdle to overcome?

Everyone has their own ‘tough bit’ when they write a novel. Although having negative reviews is horrid, and edits are a bit soul-destroying sometimes – it is the middle of writing the first draft that forms my writing Waterloo.

That moment in the initial draft when the beginning is formed, you can see the end, but somehow you can’t quite link it all up. Avoiding ‘soggy middle syndrome’ can feel like wading through treacle sometimes.

11.) Who are your biggest supporters?

My family and friends.

12.) How important do you think it is to have connections with other readers and writers? Do you think it has an impact on how well a book can do?

It’s vital. Authors need other authors. It can be a lonely job, and having lots of writer friends online and in person, is a real sanity saver.

I love connecting with my readers too. I’m lucky enough to have done a lot of book events, and now count many of my readers as friends. Their support really does keep me writing through the tough times.

13.) What are you working on at the moment, and when will we be able to get our hands on it?

At the moment I’m working through the revisions for ‘Autumn Leaves at Mill Grange’ for my publisher (Aria). This will be the second book in the ‘Mill Grange’ series – a brand new series of romances.

Book One – ‘Midsummer Dreams at Mill Grange’ came out on the 25th June and is available to buy here.

MDAMG JK

Here’s the blurb:

Thea Thomas needs to get away from her old life… and the interfering ex who won’t leave her alone. When she lands a job heading up the restoration of Mill Grange, a stunning Victorian manor in Somerset, it feels like the perfect opportunity to start afresh.

What Thea didn’t anticipate was how hostile the volunteer team, led by the formidable Mabel Hastings, would be about accepting new leadership. And with the deadline looming before the grand opening, Thea is in desperate need of more volunteers.

A broadcast appeal on the local news attracts the interest of arrogant but undeniably attractive celebrity historian Shaun Cowlson, who wants to make a TV programme about the restoration. It’s hard enough adding one more big personality to the mix – but then her ex turns up as one of the volunteers! What seemed like a dream come true is fast becoming a total disaster! Can Thea find a way to save the manor?

14.) Do you have a favourite cover of your books so far?

I’ve had some great covers. (And some awful ones!)

I do love the cover to ‘Midsummer Dreams at Mill Grange’ – and the one for ‘A Cornish Escape’. I’m not sure I can choose between them!

15.) And lastly, is there anything you’d like to say to your readers and fans?

Just thank you. Thank you for reading my books. Without readers, and people willing to give kind reviews – we wouldn’t last five minutes. So thank you. Jenny xx

 
Jenny Kane at Costa

From the comfort of her cafe corner in Mid Devon, award winning author, Jenny Kane, wrote the contemporary women’s fiction and romance novels, Midsummer at Mill Grange (Aria, 2020), A Cornish Escape (2nd edition, HeadlineAccent, 2020), A Cornish Wedding (2nd edition, HeadlineAccent, 2020), Romancing Robin Hood (2nd edition, Littwitz Press, 2018), Another Glass of Champagne (Accent Press, 2016), and Another Cup of Coffee (Accent Press, 2013).

She has also written 3 novella length sequels to her Another Cup of…..books: Another Cup of Christmas (Accent Press, 2013), Christmas in the Cotswolds (Accent, 2014), and Christmas at the Castle (Accent, 2016). These three seasonal specials are now available in one boxed set entitled Jenny Kane’s Christmas Collection (Accent, 2016)

Jenny is also the author of quirky children’s picture books There’s a Cow in the Flat (Hushpuppy, 2014) and Ben’s Biscuit Tin (Hushpuppy, 2015).

Under the pen name, Jennifer Ash, Jenny has also written The Folville Chronicles (The Outlaw’s Ransom, The Winter Outlaw, Edward’s Outlaw – published by Littwitz Press), The Power of Three (Spiteful Puppet, 2020) and The Meeting Place (Spiteful Puppet, 2019). She also created four audio scripts for ITV’s popular 1980’s television show, Robin of Sherwood.

The Waterford Boy, Mathilda’s Legacy, The Baron’s Daughter and The Meeting Place were released by Spiteful Puppet in 2017/2018/2019.

Jenny Kane is the writer in residence for Tiverton Costa in Devon. She also co-runs the creative writing business, Imagine. Jenny teaches a wide range of creative writing workshops including her popular ‘Novel in a Year’ course. (www.imaginecreativewriting.co.uk)

All of Jennifer Ash’s and Jenny Kane’s news can be found at www.jennykane.co.uk

@JenAshHistory

@JennyKaneAuthor

@Imagine_Writing

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page