top of page
  • Becca's Books

Blog Tour: Book Review: One Day In Summer by Shari Low (@sharilow @BoldwoodBooks @rararesources)

ODIS SL

Firstly, I’d like to thank the wonderful Rachel from Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me along to take part in the blog tour for Shari Low’s One Day In Summer. This story caught my eye from the get-go with its gloriously sunny cover and I couldn’t wait to dive in, and with the beautiful weather that we’ve been blessed with lately, I felt that there was never a more fitting book for the occasion! I was completely intrigued by the tag line on the cover also, which in turn had me feeling that there was a lot waiting to be discovered within the pages. The butterflies and the flowers and the strawberries all worked together fabulously in ensuring I wanted to slip into this story and spend hours reading away, while the sun shined on and the hours ticked by.

One Day In Summer by Shari Low is an enchanting, charming and wonderfully written novel focusing closely on the lives of a handful of characters and set in Glasgow. Writing of love, friendship and family, this is a heart-warming story which I’m sure will hold something relatable for readers from all walks of life. It was incredibly easy to lose myself within One Day In Summer, simply because it was so busy and lively with the lives of the characters and I willingly allowed myself to be led away from reality into a world entirely different from my own. Shari Low writes confidently and leaves little chance for the reader to lose interest . There was always something exiting taking place in this story, the characters’ lives all so full and bursting at the seams with activity and emotion. It was such a joy to be wrapped up in and I’d happily read more of Shari Low to experience this feeling again and again.

What I found most fascinating of this story though, was how skilfully it was structured. Rather than set out over months or years, One Day In Summer is set in just a single day. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book written quite like this so this was absolutely a breath of fresh air and had me excited to be experiencing a brand-new way of storytelling. Shari Low executes it in the most striking and memorable of ways and I loved it. I loved how the author managed to incorporate all of these separate bustling & hectic lives into a single 24 hours without leaving me wondering what on earth was going on. It was achieved so fluidly that it had endless appeal to me and I would certainly recommend this to anyone out there who enjoys a family-focused novel that is rich with life and emotion.

This truly was a one-of-a-kind book in my opinion. It’s not like I’ve anything I’ve read before and it gave me endless enjoyment while my nose was stuck between the pages. Shari Low is quite clearly an accomplished writer who knows just how to keep the reader invested in the story and the characters’ lives. This was such a beautifully uplifting and captivating novel, written with warmth, skill and heart. I absolutely won’t be hesitating in reading more from Shari Low in the future and I’ll also be taking a look at her previous novels, too.

If you’d like to find out more about One Day In Summer by Shari Low then keep on reading.

 

One day in summer, three lives are about to change forever. After two decades of looking after others, this is the day that Agnetha McMaster is reclaiming her life. It’s her turn, her time. But will she have the courage to start again? Ten years ago, Mitchell McMaster divorced Agnetha and married her best friend, Celeste. Now he suspects his second wife is having an affair. This is the day he’ll discover if karma has come back to bite him. Thanks to a DNA test, this is the day that Hope McTeer will finally meet her biological father. But will the reunion bring Hope the answers that she’s looking for? Three people. Twenty-four hours. A lifetime of secrets to unravel…

You can purchase your copy of One Day In Summer by Shari Low here.

 
Shari Low Author

Shari Low is the No1 best-selling author of over 25 novels, including A Life Without You, The Story Of Our Life, With Or Without You, One Day In Winter, Another Day In Winter, The Last Day of Winter, This Is Me, My One Month Marriage and her latest release, One Day In Summer.

And because she likes to over-share toe-curling moments and hapless disasters, she is also the shameless mother behind a collection of parenthood memories called Because Mummy Said So. Once upon a time she met a guy, got engaged after a week, and twenty-something years later she lives near Glasgow with her husband, a labradoodle, and two teenagers who think she’s fairly embarrassing except when they need a lift. For all the latest news, visit her on Facebook, twitter, or at http://www.sharilow.com

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page