top of page
  • Becca's Books

Book Review: A Cornish Wedding by Jenny Kane (@JennyKaneAuthor @AccentPress)

ACW JK

Earlier this month, I had the absolute pleasure of reading and reviewing Jenny Kane’s A Cornish Escape, and you can find my review for that wonderful story here. It was a charming and completely uplifting book which absolutely swept me away to the Cornish coast, surrounded by a cast of lovely characters and a fantastic plot. When I heard about A Cornish Wedding, I just knew I had to get my hands on it. I was overjoyed when I was approached and invited to read and review, and I couldn’t help but to dive in as soon as I was able to. When I finished reading A Cornish Escape earlier this month, the first thing I noticed was how much I instantly missed the characters, and so I couldn’t wait to see them again, to catch up with them and find out what they’d been up to since I left them in the previous book. A Cornish Wedding by Jenny Kane absolutely contains that effortless charm and magic that swept me up and away in the previous book. I was thrilled to be back amongst friends and found myself feeling cosy and snug as I allowed the words to wash over me and reunite me with that wonderful feeling that Jenny Kane’s writing evokes, and which I fell so head over heels in love with in A Cornish Escape.

Not only reunited with Abi and Stan and Beth, but readers are introduced to a brand-new character in A Cornish Wedding, someone who might just be the worst possible neighbour Abi could have wished for. Adding Cassandra into the mix certainly sprinkled a dash of something mischievous into the plot, as well as a hefty dose of entertainment for readers who see Abi battling with an unforeseen force she just hadn’t seen coming. A city-type, not cut out for coastal living with the lack of a consistent wi-fi signal, Cassandra is not there to make friends and it quickly becomes evident that she’s not planning to stick around either. I loved the contrasts between Abi and Cassandra. They were so very different to each other, not just in their personalities but in their mannerisms and lifestyles, too, and the author created such a fabulous atmosphere between the two women. Placing these two characters together was such a fantastic idea and Jenny Kane couldn’t have done a better job of it. Endlessly entertaining, and absolutely kept me hooked, I couldn’t have loved this pairing more if I’d tried.

Another aspect of A Cornish Wedding which I loved was the idea of new love after suffering a loss. In the first story, A Cornish Escape, readers meet Stan when Abi arrives in Cornwall and finds the house she loved so much as a child. The owner of said house turns out to be Stan, who we later find to be a gentle, loving and wonderful character who becomes very close to Abi when he sells the house to her, knowing how much it means to her and her memories. In A Cornish Wedding, we see Stan moving on in life and announcing his engagement and approaching marriage to Dora, a new friend of his. Jenny Kane approached this beautifully and almost moved me to tears on more than one ocassion. It was such a heartwarming aspect to include in the book and one which I’m sure will place joy into the hearts of many readers. It made me smile so much and I enjoyed every moment learning of Stan’s new relationship. It certainly holds a lesson in that life is too short to hang about. If you’re going to do something that makes you happy, you might as well as do it as soon as you can. What’s the point in hanging around?

As was evident in the previous story surrounding Abi, A Cornish Wedding was positively bursting at the seams with joy, blossoming friendships, and love. Jenny Kane’s gorgeous writing and ability to put a smile on her readers’ face radiated from every page and again, I feel at a loss now that I’m to leave these characters behind. I feel like I know each of them on such a personal level, it’s hard to believe that they’re fiction. Jenny Kane has quickly become an author I’d be happy to return to again and again, simply because her stories are so cosy and easy to slip into.

This was yet another gorgeously uplifting and warm story from Jenny Kane, one which I thoroughly enjoyed and found a never-ending stream of entertainment within. It was bubbly, enticing and, quite simply, an enchanting Cornish tale with a vibrant and lively cast of characters you will grow to know and admire as if they were your very own friends. Jenny Kane is a wonderful writer, one I’m thrilled to have discovered. I’m already looking forward to my next Jenny Kane read. With thanks to the publisher for the advanced reading copy of this book, that of which has no reflection on me providing a fair and honest review.

Read on to find out more about A Cornish Wedding by Jenny Kane.

 
ACW JK

Abi has what she’s always dreamed of: her perfect Cornish cottage, great friends and a gorgeous boyfriend. But her idyll is shattered when a new neighbour moves in next door.

Rude and obnoxious, Cassandra doesn’t make a good first impression on Abi. But with the unexpected wedding of one of Abi’s friends to prepare for, Abi has bigger things to worry about.

However, avoiding her new neighbour proves harder than expected and Abi and Cassandra soon realise they might have more in common than they first thought…

But with the wedding only weeks away, can they set aside their differences before the big day?

Pre-order/purchase your copy of A Cornish Wedding by Jenny Kane here.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page