top of page
  • Becca's Books

Book Review: Christmas at Frozen Falls by Kiley Dunbar

CAFF KD

Christmas is my absolute favourite time of year, so I had no issues whatsoever in diving into a festive read in May. In fact, it was an entirely welcome escape from the world we’re currently living in, so I couldn’t wait to get started, to become lost in the flurries of snowflakes at Frozen Falls. This is the first book I’ve had the pleasure of reading by Kiley Dunbar, but it certainly will not be the last. In fact, as soon as I finished reading this gorgeous story, I went straight over to Amazon and purchased another two of Kiley’s books, because I loved it. Christmas at Frozen Falls was everything I had hoped it would be, and more. It was romantic, cosy, full of warmth and heart, and the absolute perfect book to snuggle up with on the sofa with a hot cup of tea, shutting out the rest of the world.

Christmas at Frozen Falls follows the story of Sylvie Magnusson, history teacher, and her very best friend, Nari, travel-blogger extraordinaire. After the devastation of her husband-to-be deciding to call it quits just a week before their wedding, Sylvie has no idea of what she’s supposed to do next, but Nari sure does. Due to having plenty of contacts in the travel-industry, Nari manages to switch the honeymoon destination to one more suited to a best-buddy Christmas getaway, to Lapland! Though reluctant, and still heartbroken, Sylvie knows she can’t pass up the chance of experiencing the magic of Lapland with Nari, and so off they go, the land of Santa Claus, Elves, and the Northern Lights.

Just before they leave, Sylvie is reminded of someone she used to know. Someone she was very sure she had fallen head over heels for, and who then left the country before she was able to find out if her feelings were reciprocated. As it turns out, where she and Nari are heading, is the very place Stellan, the one who got away, fled to, for reasons she was never able to figure out. This is going to be a holiday to remember.

I gelled with Kiley Dunbar’s writing style instantly. It was gorgeous. Her descriptions, the dialogue, the setting. It all worked beautifully together, ensuring I was whisked far away from my living room to the snowy wilderness of Lapland. As soon as I started reading this story, I knew that I wasn’t going to be able to put it down, and I was right. I devoured this book in just a couple of sittings and loved every moment spent lost within its pages. It was magical, the author’s descriptive writing making the place come to life on the pages, and I loved how cosy and content reading this book made me feel. It soothed my anxious mind, and took every single nagging worry away from me in a heartbeat. I was so envious of Sylvie and Nari, of the adventure they both set out upon. I wanted to be there too, alongside the pair of them, as they discovered Lapland with the help of their two very intriguing tour guides. From the husky dogs to the reindeer, and from the strange food to the exciting sleigh-rides, I enjoyed every experience presented to me, almost as much as the characters themselves.

The romance in this story was just wonderful, too. I’ve always found the idea of two people reunited, who once had feelings for each other, incredibly delicious, and that was very much the case in Sylive’s journey. When she sees Stellan for the first time after so many years have passed, the chemistry and tension was palpable, and I couldn’t wait to see where Kiley would take these two characters. Of course, alongside Sylvie’s own love story, Nari’s was taking shape too, which made this story even more romantic than I first thought possible. Not only are we focusing on one potential romance, but two, and it was exciting and fizzing with attraction and I just couldn’t get enough of the secret looks shared between them all. At first, I felt that Stellan was a little cold towards Sylvie, and their reunion wasn’t exactly the blissful moment I’d been expecting, but as the relationship between the two began to blossom, more of Stellan’s history is revealed and we begin to understand why he is the way that he is.

Another aspect I thoroughly enjoyed in this book was the way the author had structured it. Throughout the story, there are extracts from Nari’s travel blog, and we get to see first-hand what she’s writing and sharing with her readers from the trip to Lapland. I adored this lovely bonus narrative, and it added an extra glimpse into the activities the women get up to while in the snowy setting, and opened up Nari’s character, too. It was such an evocative way to draw the reader even more into the story, and being into blogging myself, I found it so enjoyable, and it made Nari much more relatable also.

Overall, I adored this story. Everything from the setting and the fantastic characters, to the romance and the adventure, this was a gorgeously sweet and festive story that I’d highly recommend to anyone who loves a delicious romance with a stunning backdrop. This story had it all for me, and I already can’t wait to carry on with more of Kiley’s books because they’re addictive and an absolute joy to lose oneself within. I hope there’s news of Kiley’s next book very soon! Not only is the story beautiful, but the cover is too, and I’m not afraid to admit to enjoying a pretty cover from time to time. This was a sweet, uplifting, and entertaining story and it’s receiving a five out of five rating from The Book Babe today. I can’t wait to see what Kiley Dunbar is going to write next.

Read on to find out more about Christmas at Frozen Falls by Kiley Dunbar.

 
CAFF KD

Sylvie Magnusson is going to be lonely this Christmas. Instead of jetting off on her honeymoon, she’s freezing at home in Cheshire. Guess that’s what happens when your fiance dumps you a week before your wedding…

Sylvie’s best friend, Nari, plans a trip to see the Northern Lights and get Sylvie’s mojo back. But as their Lapland getaway approaches, Sylvie realises that Frozen Falls is the hometown of Stella Virtanen, her dreamy Finnish ex-boyfriend, the one that got away.

When they meet, Stellan’s still gorgeous – and her heart is warmed when he shows her the romantic delights of Lapland (as well as some adorable Husky puppies). But when she returns to England, can she really leave Stellan behind? Or will she find that her heart belongs in the frozen North?

You can purchase your copy of Christmas at Frozen Falls here.

0 views0 comments

Комментарии


bottom of page