top of page
  • Becca's Books

Book Review: For Better, For Worse by Jane Isaac


FBFW JI

For Better, For Worse by Jane Isaac was a truly gripping, gritty and addictive crime thriller, one which I found impossible to put down and impossible to ignore. With such a riveting and plausible plot, coupled with the fantastic cast of characters, I found myself glued to this story from the very first page and completely wrapped up and lost to the investigation which took place. With such a dark and twisted premise, and a murder which leads DC Beth Chamberlain down numerous sinister avenues, I was hooked and found myself eager for more clues to be discovered, for more answers to be found. With a killer reluctant to stop until they’ve completed their mission, this brilliantly-executed police procedural from Isaac had me on the edge of my seat and I enjoyed every moment of it.

In For Better, For Worse by Jane Isaac, readers join DC Beth Chamberlain as, piece by piece, she tries to put together the complex puzzle that follows the death of Stuart Ingram who is killed in a hit and run. It doesn’t take long for the team to put two and two together and realise that Stuart Ingram is the same man who was arrested and charged after disturbing images were discovered on his home computer, and this is after he is accused of sexual harassment by a former assistant. It seems that a man accused of such horrific things could easily become someone’s target, and it’s down to the team to figure out who is behind the hit and run, but of course trying to find the person responsible for Stuart Ingram’s death is going to be like trying to find a needle in a haystack. And so begins the lengthy job of narrowing down their suspicions in order to pin down whoever is behind the murder.

The characterisation in Jane Isaac’s For Better, For Worse was brilliant and I was thoroughly intrigued by each member of the investigation team who worked alongside DC Beth Chamberlain. Chamberlain herself was incredibly clever, quick-witted and not one to turn away from a challenge. I admired her determination and how she always followed her instincts. I found her so enjoyable to read about and my fondness of her only grew as the novel progressed. I found her to be someone I respected in regards to the decisions she made throughout the book and I enjoyed my time spent beside her as the case spiralled out of the control. Another character we read a lot of in the book is Gina Ingram, Stuart Ingram’s wife, and I loved this extra narrative. It really allowed us a closer look into the Ingram’s life and I found seeing things from Gina’s perspective incredibly interesting. After all, it was Gina’s husband, Stuart, who is the victim of the hit and run. This way, we’re given another view of the death of Stuart, and his wife’s thoughts and feelings about it. I enjoyed reading about Stuart and Gina’s relationship, and found the breakdown of their marriage fascinating. It was an eye-opening look at what a wife would do in such a horrific situation and I really enjoyed seeing where the author would take the investigation next, and what they’d find out.

From one victim to the next, Jane Isaac ensures that there is far too much going on within the plot for the reader to look away. I was hooked from page one of this book and couldn’t wait to see where the characters would be by the end. This was a suspenseful, tension-fuelled crime thriller with a vibrant and active cast of characters that really brought the story to life and helped me visualise it in the clearest of ways. Jane Isaac is obviously a very skilled and capable writer when it comes to ensuring that her novels are spot-on when writing about the police and any investigational activity, which absolutely shines through in For Better, For Worse.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed For Better, For Worse by Jane Isaac and I hope there will soon be more to come from DC Beth Chamberlain. I absolutely loved watching the team work together in order to bring a killer down. It was thrilling, chilling and superbly written, and I feel Jane Isaac is an author who excels in her genre. I really enjoyed this book and would definitely recommend it to anyone who enjoys a novel that sucks you in amid the flurry of activity within a police building with a case about to explode.

Read on to find out more about For Better, For Worse by Jane Isaac.

 
FBFW JI

Stuart Ingram was once a respected local councillor…

The first time the police knocked on Gina’s door, they arrested her husband.

The second time, they accused him of child abuse.

But he died a guilty man.

This time, the police are here for Gina – to tell her that her husband is dead. Murdered. Just two weeks before his trial.

Gina always stood by her husband. Even when everyone else walked away. She believed the trial would clear his name. But now Stuart is dead.

And his wife is the suspect.

It’s a race against time for DC Beth Chamberlain to uncover the truth – especially when a second man turns up dead.

You can purchase your copy of For Better, For Worse by Jane Isaac here.

0 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page