top of page
  • Becca's Books

Book Review: The Summer Deal by Jill Shalvis


First of all, I’m furious with myself for having not read a novel by Jill Shalvis before now. I mean, where have I been? What have I been doing? How did I not know that this author was out there writing books like this? I am SO MAD at myself for taking a chance sooner, because after reading The Summer Deal, I want to immediately buy all of Shalvis’s previous books and devour them one by one.

And secondly, this was gorgeous. It reminded me very much of Sarah Morgan’s books, those of which have turned out to be some of my very favourite romance novels of all time. Shalvis writes with warmth and spirit, with heart and soul, and it illuminates the words on the page, bringing them beautifully to life and in turn, filling the story with colour and breath and an energy impossible to ignore. From the moment I began reading the first page, I fell deep beneath the author’s spell, reality fading around me as I lost myself to Brynn and Kinsey’s stories, those of which began separately but by the end, had become intrinsically linked and in the most powerful of ways. Not only heart-warming in its emotional capacity, this was a story which was scorching with sexiness and heat, the most perfect contrast to the tenderness also found alongside it. The moments of chemistry peppered throughout The Summer Deal were almost unbearable, so intense and seductive, I’m surprised my Kindle didn’t burst into flames right there in my hands. I had no idea what awaited me when I began this book, but I’m so glad now that I’ve read it. I’m certain I’ve discovered an author who I’ll be returning to regularly, for more passionate romance, for more new friendships, and for more of the sheer enjoyment I felt while lost within this story.

The Summer Deal by Jill Shalvis follows Brynn and Kinsey, two young and bright women both trying to find their way in the chaos of what we call life. The differences in their unique circumstances couldn’t be more obvious, and in their personalities too, which only made me love the pair of them more. It swiftly comes to light that there is a history behind these two, one which goes years back and tangles and captures the women in a messy yet tender bond which both are unaware of in the present day. Through the use of diary extracts peppered throughout the book, written by both Brynn and Kinsey, readers are gifted glimpses into their shared time at summer camp as girls, and it is here that we learn of how their hostility towards each other was born, and how it only seemed to progress and grow stronger as the years went by. I adored these flashbacks in time. They really opened up the world to me in this book, and added so much emotional depth to the characters, it was difficult to think of them being anything except real. Shalvis hits just the right notes too, adding a wonderful sense of immaturity, which would obviously be expected at such a young age, that of which also added humour and a yearning for my childhood days, when the worst thing that could happen would be your childhood enemy stealing your glasses so that you were unable to see properly!

When we’re not reading the diary entries from Brynn and Kinsey’s time at summer camp, we’re in the present day, alongside both women, as Shalvis switches narrative with each chapter change. I loved spending time with both Brynn and Kinsey because their lives were just so utterly different from each other. We follow Brynn as she tries to navigate a new, unplanned life without her ex-boyfriend who upped and left with all of her money and then some. Trying to regain her independence and confidence, a chance meeting with Eli, also a blast from the past, leads Brynn to a new place to stay, where she’ll be safe from the prying eyes of her Moms who, by the way, were absolutely brilliant. We also witness Brynn as she tries to learn to trust again, with the help of Eli who was such an exquisite hero, and added a whole lot of heat and sexual tension to this story. I adored his character, and there really couldn’t have been a better balm for Brynn’s wounded soul. I felt that they were perfect for each other, although there were many obstacles along the way that kept them from letting their guard down with each other. This only heightened the tension though, and I loved watching the chemistry spark between them.

Things are very different for Kinsey, and she’s got a whole different outlook on life to Brynn. After spending the majority of her teenage and adult life sick, she’s more reluctant than anyone else to give her heart away, or put a label on anything. She believes she has an expiry date and refuses to let herself get swept away by emotions or feelings because… well, what’s the point? Kinsey is sassy, fiery and has so much sarcasm ready to hand out. I loved her character and her personality glowed throughout the book. She has a secret, too. A secret she will never tell. But when her world finally collides with Brynn’s, it’s looking like she won’t have much choice…

This was truly, truly the most wonderful, wonderful story. Focusing on friendship, love and family, it absolutely blew me away and has only made me want to go back and read absolutely everything that Jill Shalvis has ever written. This author’s style is so incredibly easy to lose oneself within, and once I started, it was impossible to put this book down. Focusing on love, friendship and family, The Summer Deal by Jill Shalvis was perfectly perfect in every way imaginable. The sexual-tension unbearable, the romance heart-skippingly charming, and the journey towards courage gloriously uplifting. I adored this book and I cannot wait for Jill’s next one, due out in January 2021. Gah, that seems way too far away, but the best things are always worth waiting for! This book is receiving a five out of five rating from me. With thanks to the publisher for the advance reading copy of this book, that of which has no reflection on me giving a fair and honest review.

Read on to find out more about The Summer Deal by Jill Shalvis.

 
TSD JS

There’s a thin line between love and hate.

After making one bad decision too many, Brynn Turner heads home to Wildstone, hoping to make a fresh start and protect her heart from future mistakes.

Having battled serious health issues her entire twenty-nine years of life, Kinsey Davies is tired of hoping for… well, anything. Kinsey is fierce, tough, and she’s keeping more than one bombshell of a secret from Brynn – her long-time frenemy.

When Brynn runs into Kinsey’s lifelong best friend and her own childhood crush, Eli, she never dreams it’ll result in finding a piece of herself she didn’t even know was missing. She could have real connections, possibly love, and a future – if she can only learn to let go of the past.

 

You can pre-order/purchase your copy of The Summer Deal by Jill Shalvis here.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page