top of page
  • Becca's Books

Book Review: The Telephone Box Library by Rachael Lucas

TTBL RL

It’s been a while since I last had the pleasure of reading a story written by Rachael Lucas. However, all it took was the turn of a handful of pages of this wonderfully warm and wholesome story, for me to remember why I love this author as much as I do. Lucas is such a talented writer. She absolutely opens up a whole new world within her stories, full of some of the most welcoming, kind-hearted and enjoyable characters for readers to meet. It’s utterly impossible to not become wrapped up entirely in the prettiest, quaintest places Lucas creates within her novels, to not want to step into the pages and lose yourself within a place you’ve never been before. I’m so happy I chose this book as my next read. It’s left me with a smile on my face, and I feel completely satisfied with how Lucas ended this story, although there’s no doubt that I’d absolutely adore to read more from these characters, but that’s just me being greedy…

In ‘The Telephone Box Library’ by Rachael Lucas, readers are introduced to Lucy Evans. Due to a sudden health scare, Lucy has decided to take a six-month sabbatical away from her high-pressured job in teaching in the hopes that some time away will give her the much-needed break her body and soul are crying out for. So, where better to ease ones mind than a stupendously pretty little Cotswold village, known as Little Maudley? It’s here that Lucy winds up after spotting an ad that couldn’t be more perfect in her time of need.

‘Beautiful cottage in Cotswold village available. Reduced rent in exchange for keeping an eye on elderly neighbour. Duties to include shopping, light tidying and daily company. Contact Margaret Nicholson for further details.’

Upon arrival, Lucas sets the scene perfectly and we are invited to step into this stunning little village alongside Lucy as she attempts to settle in, with her unruly woofer Hamish by her side. Lucas writes beautifully about the scenery within Little Maudley, making it spring to life on the page, capturing the very essence of the place in the most charming, desirable of ways. Everything from the wildflowers to the endless green fields, from the peaceful woodland to the gentle hum and thrum of nature all around, this was the ultimate countryside escape and I wanted so badly to be there, to explore every corner of it for myself. It was idyllic and peaceful, the very thing we all seek when our heads feel too full of ‘things’, and I had a feeling it was going to work wonders for our leading lady. I mean, how could it not? Lucas writes with so much warmth and love for the place where Lucy’s story takes place. It’s a joy to read, and feels like sunshine for the soul.

There’s a real sense of community within this story, and I think in our society today, this is something we need more than ever. The feeling of people coming together, of friendship and care. Lucas seems to capture the essence of village life spectacularly. The characters were all utterly charming and I felt that they all brought that little something special into Lucy’s life, something that she desperately needed. Bunty was a particular favourite of mine. She made me laugh constantly, and it was lovely to watch how her and Lucy’s relationship evolved throughout the novel. Not only was she entertaining, but her life and her memories made this story all the more special, and all the more emotional. Lucas wrote about Bunty’s history with tenderness and heart, and I was so curious about the other secrets she kept hidden away. I feel that each time Bunty opened up to Lucy, another part of their friendship was formed and solidified. There was Mel, too, and let’s not forget the very handsome, very friendly Sam, who I enjoyed reading about very much. Lucas just seems to get the balance between romance and friendship perfect in this book.

There were so many themes within this story, all wrapped up within each other. From traversing the rocky roads of single parenting, to discovering more about the history of the village, to Lucy’s very own self-discovery. I felt that with every new chapter, there was something new for me to be excited about. I fell completely and utterly head over heels in love with this story, with Lucy’s search for peace and happiness, with Sam’s experience of trying to be the best father to his daughter, and with Bunty’s own acceptance of her past and choosing to tell her story rather than keep it hidden forever. I loved the secret link between Bunty and the telephone box too.

All in all, I am so glad I purchased this book. It’s put a little lightness in my step and a little love in my heart. It was the most wonderful escape to the Cotswolds, rich with history and lovable characters, and sprinkled with that truly special Lucas magic that I’ve missed so very much and can’t wait to read more of.

The Book Babe is awarding ‘The Telephone Box Library’ by Rachael Lucas with five out of five stars. An absolute must-read for anyone who is in need of a gorgeously written, romantic escape right now. I adored every moment spent within this story.

 
TTBL RL
The Cotswolds: the perfect retreat for a stressed-out teacher. And Lucy has found just the right cottage for a bargain rent. All she has to do is keep an eye on her neighbour… With her West Highland terrier Hamish at her side, Lucy plans to relax and read up on the women of nearby Bletchley Park. But the villagers of Little Maudley have other ideas, and she finds herself caught up in the campaign to turn a dilapidated telephone box into a volunteer-run library. Along the way, she makes friends with treehouse designer Sam, and finds herself falling for the charms of village life. And it seems Bunty has a special connection to Bletchley and the telephone box, one that she’s kept secret for decades…

You can purchase your copy of The Telephone Box Library by Rachael Lucas here.

0 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page