top of page
  • Becca's Books

Book Review: The Waffle House on the Pier by @TillyTenWriter (@bookouture)

TWHOTP TT

I was desperate to read this book as soon as the cover of it was revealed over on Twitter. The Waffe House on the Pier by Tilly Tennant looked & sounded like the perfect escape for these monotonous days of lockdown, a wonderful seaside getaway to look forward to amongst the endless ‘groundhog day’ vibe. I put my request in to read this book as soon as I could possibly could, and I looked forward to the moment I could step into the pages and say goodbye to reality for a little while.

The Waffle House on the Pier by Tilly Tennant follows Sadie as she tries to rescue the Waffle House which has stood proud on the pier in Sea Salt Bay for as long as she can remember, following the death of her beloved grandfather. Owned and run by her grandparents, Sadie refuses to let the old place crumble and be sold on to someone else, to be replaced by a nail or hair salon. So, determined as ever, Sadie quits her teaching course and steps up to help her elderly grandmother keep the place running. But with her husband gone, Sadie’s grandmother isn’t the same as she once was, and Sadie begins to wonder whether she’s bitten off more than she can chew…

I loved this warm, uplifting and cosy tale of friendship, romance and family. It really hit the mark for me, and the setting of Sea Salt Bay was exactly what I needed. There really is nothing quite like a pretty seaside escape, and Tilly Tennant wrote this one beautifully. With its fish and chip bar, gift shops and arcade, it whisked me far away and dropped me into the heart of a place I wanted to call ‘home’ by the time I’d reached the final page. Tennant writes warmly and invitingly about the Dorset coast and I adored my time spent here. It was no wonder, really, that Sadie finds herself returning to the town she grew up in, because I think that if I had been in Sadie’s shoes, I definitely would to.

Within this story, Tilly Tennant touches upon many subjects. We see Sadie battling with herself in regards to her career choices, and the awful reality of losing a loved one, not only to death but to dementia. We watch as Sadie is reunited with a love from long ago, as well as a new love interest who completely takes her by surprise. We’re also witness to many tricky family discussions in regards to the Waffle House itself. Tennant really focuses on family in this story, and the different aspects of family relationships and the different generations within. This was thoroughly enjoyable and I really loved these moments around the dinner table, as the author made them feel so real and convincing with her exceptional dialogue and ability to bring her characters to life. With sensitivity, Tennant adds so much weight to her characters and their lives, and it really made the story shine.

Amongst everything else, what stood out to me most was how much I came to care about these characters and the future of the Waffle House. Tennant conveyed perfectly the importance of the waffle house in her characters’ lives, and I particularly enjoyed the memories of Sadie being there with her grandparents when she was younger. Through these flashbacks, I was able to understand exactly why Sadie was so determined to keep the waffle house in the family, whether it was actually doable or not. Tennant writes with so much heart, it’s impossible to not come to feel for the family within this story, and not want the best for them before the book reaches its final conclusion. I adored Sea Salt Bay and the people who lived there, and I wanted nothing more than for the Waffle House to remain at the end of the pier for many more years to come.

The Waffle House on the Pier by Tilly Tennant was a joyful, scrumptious dessert of a story, with so much filling and flavour, I just couldn’t get enough. It made me smile, it induced a severe craving for something sweet, and it absolutely whisked me away to the seaside and provided me with a very welcome escape. I really enjoyed this tale from Tilly Tennant, and can’t thank the author enough for providing me with someplace to escape to when we all need it most. With thanks to the published for the advanced reading copy of this book, that of which has no reflection on me providing a fair and honest review.

Read on to find out more about The Waffle House on the Pier by Tilly Tennant.

 
TWHOTP TT

For as long as she can remember, Sadie’s grandparents have run the waffle house on the pier at Sea Salt Bay. With its pretty painted chairs, sweet smells, and the warm advice of her beloved grandparents, the waffle house is like a second home.

But when Sadie’s grandfather dies, leaving her grandmother without an anchor, Sadie must make a difficult decision. She quits her job and moves back home, determined to keep things going. The trouble is, she knows nothing about running a business, and learning at a million miles an hour with a shop full of hungry people isn’t easy. When she nearly burns the waffle house down, she has to admit she needs to get some help.

Her ex-boyfriend Declan promises to be there for her but Sadie worries that getting too close is a mistake – especially as he has a new girlfriend now. And anyway she’s just met newcomer Luke, with his gorgeous suntan and mellow voice…

Sadie’s family have always loved Declan and they’re not too sure about Luke, leaving Sadie unsure which way to turn. A terrible accident at sea forces her to look into her heart, but what if its already too late to tell the right man that she loves him?

Pre-order/purchase your copy of The Waffle House on the Pier by Tilly Tennant here.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page