top of page
  • Becca's Books

EVER AFTER BY KATE EBERLEN

Updated: Aug 18, 2023

In ‘Ever After’ by Kate Eberlen, readers are introduced to Gus and Tess, and a romance that intertwines throughout both of their lives, spanning years, toing and froing the both of them, almost as though the universe is undecided about where they will end up, and if they will end up together. Infused with romance, warmth and depth, ‘Ever After’ is a sensitive and moving tale, of what it means to take a chance, to throw caution to the wind, and to make the most of the time we have here.

Dear readers, it has been such a long time since I last wrote a book review, so if this review at any time seems a bit wobbly or loose in its structure, I do apologise. It has been years since I last felt calm enough to enjoy a story, even more so to then gather my thoughts at the end of said story and write about it. But alas, here I am, having worked up the courage to do just that, and hoping that I make some sort of sense while doing so.

This was a really beautiful story, and reminded me very much of star-crossed lovers, in the sense that Tess and Gus crossed paths on more than one occasion throughout lengthy periods of time. I’m very much a big believer in things happening for a reason, and so it didn’t take long for me to assume that fate definitely had a part to play in the eventual meeting of these two characters. This is something that I am always drawn to in romantic fiction and something I will never tire of reading about. There is something so intensely delicious about knowing that no matter what these characters do, they are bound to collide. Eberlen nailed that aspect of this tale and I thoroughly enjoyed being witness to it.

With each chapter allowing the reader an insight into Tess and Gus’ individual lives, Eberlen provided a satisfying observation of his and hers’ thoughts and feelings, which paved the way throughout the story. From chapter to chapter, I found myself anticipating how each character had observed what had happened previously, and I enjoyed reading their differing opinions on the things which they both experienced, especially as the novel progressed, and things began to get rather rocky.

I feel that the characters were beautifully brought to life by the author. Emotions were written to life with art, and the story moved me repeatedly. I adored the scenery of Florence, adding even more of a colourful splash of magic to the story, and could easily picture myself alongside the characters as they strolled along sun-dappled pavements, considering their futures.

When my mother used to read me fairy tales, I think I always focused on the ‘ever after’ instead of the ‘happily’.

Towards the end of the novel, emotions intensify for the reader, especially for those who have perhaps experienced cancer in their own lives. Both frightening yet tenderly written, Eberlen writes about the subject with sensitivity, and in a way that encourages the reader to desperately hope that both characters will receive their happy ending.

This was a gentle and deeply soothing read despite the tough subject matter. Eberlen weaves escape with a daydream-like quality, but at the same, infuses a sense of realness and raw emotion. I loved the characters and their unique bond, and how, no matter what, they always seemed to find their way back to each other. Utterly heart-warming and a joy to lose myself in, I really look forward to reading more from this author.

Netgalley copy provided by publisher.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page